Invitation Letter


    

    

   

   

   

   

May 2013

Dear Colleague in Catholic Higher Education:

We would like to invite you to become a member of the Catholic Higher Education Research Cooperative (CHERC). You are invited to share in the scholarly and professional rewards of membership in this fine group. 

As you may know, the CHERC organization grew out of more than a decade of gatherings of institutional researchers and others from Catholic higher education at national and regional conferences, and at an annual Forum every spring. Now formally organized, CHERC continues to be firmly committed to a strong focus on research in Catholic higher education. CHERC is an affiliated member of the Association of Catholic Colleges and Universities (ACCU) in Washington, D.C., and we have regular contact and share research interests with ACCU’s leadership. CHERC is also an affiliated member of the Association for Institutional Research (AIR) and (anyone else?).

Benefits of CHERC Membership

  • Opportunities to participate in targeted collaborative research with other CHERC members.

  • Sharing instruments, question sets, tools and outcomes custom to Catholic higher education.

  • Participating in the CHERC Forum every year; special interest groups (SIGs) at IR conferences, and the active listserv of members.

  • Member-only access to CHERC web site posts on current research in Catholic higher education.

  • In-depth investigation of the impact of Catholic higher education

CHERC Forum gatherings in the past have featured stellar speakers. They include: Catholic higher education scholars and authors Melanie Morey, George Dennis O’Brien, and Peter Steinfels, researcher Jennifer Lindholm, and assessment specialist Linda Suskie.

Membership for 2013-2014 is $125. The fees are used to support speaker honoraria, strengthen our organization infrastructure and provide limited support for collaborative research projects. A Membership Enrollment Form is attached, and dues are payable to our custodial account at Villanova University-CHERC, c/or Joan M. O’Brien, Office of Planning and Institutional Research (OPIR), Villanova University, 800 Lancaster Avenue, Villanova, PA 19085-1699. Please feel free to contact any of our Board members below with questions. You can also visit the CHERC website www.cherc.org for additional information.

Finally, remember to mark your calendar for Forum 2014 on April 6-7. See you there!

Sincerely,

CHERC Board of Directors

Mark Gunty, University of Notre Dame: mgunty@nd.edu

Ellen Boylan, Marywood University: eboylan@marywood.edu

Louise Murray, College of St. Elizabeth: lmurray@cse.edu

Michael Cogan, University of St. Thomas (MN): mfcogan@stthomas.edu

Daniel Koshute, St. Francis University: dkoshute@francis.edu

Chad May, Holy Family University: cmay@holyfamily.edu

Joan Merlo, Molloy College: jmerlo@molloy.edu

Lisa Plummer, Cabrini College: lisa.m.plummer@cabrini.edu

James F. Trainer, Villanova University: james.trainer@villanova.edu

Administration

Joan M. O’Brien:  Joan.obrien@villanova.edu

 

     
 
__________________________________________________________________
Home | Catholic College Forum | Invitation Letter | Membership | Membership Enrollment Form
Research Reports | Survey Instruments | Carnegie Community Engagement Initiative
    __________________________________________________________________
Site Hosted by Villanova University
Villanova, PA 19380